Health News & Articles

jack o lanterns by beth teutschmann

N.J. Health Department Guidance for Halloween Health and Safety Steps

Sat, 10/10/2020 - 13:51

The NJ Department of Health offers tips and recommendations for adapting traditional celebrations and considerations for ways to celebrate Halloween safely.

Walk with a Doc logo

Natural Illness Prevention and Stress Management

Wed, 10/07/2020 - 14:48

Dr. Ken Freedman, DC, owner of Freedman Chiropractic in East Brunswick offers his insight on natural illness prevention and stress management.

working from  home

6 Ways to Relieve Your Work from Home Fatigue

Tue, 09/15/2020 - 18:08

Use these psychologist-approved strategies to fix and avoid the remote work burnout.

naloxone

New Jersey to Provide Opioid-Overdose Antidote Naloxone for Free to Residents September 24-26 at Participating Pharmacies Across the State

Mon, 09/14/2020 - 10:39

Residents Can Obtain Free Naloxone at 322 Participating Pharmacies Without Providing Name or a Prescription

child wearing a mask

All About Masks

Thu, 08/27/2020 - 16:59

The teen volunteers in the EB Red Cross Council made some videos to show you when and where they're wearing their masks.

pool water

Water Safety: Rules for Kids

Thu, 08/13/2020 - 16:48

Learn about the basics of water safety and techniques that anyone can use to rescue anyone.

EBPL Social Worker

Library Social Worker Program

Mon, 08/10/2020 - 13:21

The health literacy social worker is available to help residents of Middlesex County.

bear wearing a mask

Yes, You Should Wear a Mask. Here’s How and Why

Wed, 07/15/2020 - 17:43

Properly wearing a mask or cloth face covering can help keep you safe while navigating the COVID-19 pandemic.

black color

Let's Talk About Race, Racism, Bias, & Prejudice

Thu, 06/04/2020 - 11:24

Resources for families to get these conversations started

Corona Virus

What to Know About Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Mon, 05/04/2020 - 14:07

Information and resources about Novel Coronavirus

Coronavirus has no race

COVID-19 Testing Sites in Middlesex County

Tue, 04/07/2020 - 16:14

Find testing sites for Coronavirus in Middlesex County

empty grocery store shelves

Middlesex County COVID-19 Food Pantry Directory

Mon, 03/23/2020 - 15:37

A directory of food pantries in Middlesex County operating during the coronavirus pandemic.

House with bicycle in front

Daily Life in the Time of COVID-19

Wed, 03/18/2020 - 20:21

Information and Resources for Your Daily Life during the Coronavirus Pandemic

An empty subway car

Flattening the Curve for COVID-19: What Does It Mean and How Can You Help?

Sat, 03/14/2020 - 10:28

History shows that taking strong steps now to slow the spread of coronavirus will help communities and individuals.

man holding his child at the beach

How to Talk to Your Kids About COVID-19

Sat, 03/14/2020 - 11:46

They see the masks too. A pediatric psychologist offers five tips for parents on how to talk about the pandemic with their children.

hands

Finger Numbness

Fri, 03/06/2020 - 10:43

Could It Be Carpal Tunnel Syndrome?

Coronavirus Call Center

NJ Coronavirus Call Center

Tue, 02/11/2020 - 11:14

1-800-222-1222

Man holding stomach

Gut Troubles

Sat, 02/08/2020 - 10:29

Pain, Gassiness, Bloating, and More

People playing a video game

Healthier Video Game Habits

Sat, 02/08/2020 - 10:15

5 Tips for Parents of Teens

Wuhan

2019 Coronavirus HEALTH ALERT: Travelers from China

Thu, 02/06/2020 - 09:27

There is an outbreak of respiratory illness in China.

Person applying lotion to their hands

Rash Decisions

Wed, 01/08/2020 - 13:47

How to Deal With Itchy, Red Skin

Breakfast with fruits

Rough Up Your Diet

Sat, 12/28/2019 - 11:16

Fit More Fiber Into Your Day

fireworks

Making Your Resolutions Stick

Mon, 12/16/2019 - 09:22

How to Create Healthy Habits

Winter in New York

Be Prepared to Stay Safe and Healthy in Winter

Sat, 12/14/2019 - 15:40

Winter storms and cold temperatures can be dangerous. Stay safe and healthy by planning ahead. Prepare your home and cars. Prepare for power outages and outdoor activity. Check on older adults.

clock table setting

To Fast or Not to Fast

Wed, 12/04/2019 - 20:24

Does When You Eat Matter?

Snow covered town

Healthy Good Tidings: 20 Ways to Manage Your Diet This Season

Sat, 11/30/2019 - 11:52

Two Michigan Medicine experts share advice on navigating the holiday food and drink scene in the healthiest way possible.

x-ray of a hand

Medical Scans Explained

Thu, 11/07/2019 - 11:02

A Look Inside the Body

Yoga on the beach

Yoga for Health

Mon, 11/04/2019 - 15:05

Positioning Your Body and Mind

Senior Dinner

A Well-Aged Mind

Fri, 10/11/2019 - 11:37

Maintaining Your Cognitive Health

Jack o'lanterns

Seven Ways to Be Safe and Healthy This Halloween

Mon, 09/30/2019 - 11:10

Don’t let your health get tricked this Halloween!

Messages of Hope

Teen Suicide

Tue, 09/10/2019 - 15:12

Understanding the Risk and Getting Help

Meat and Veggies

Intermittent Fasting - Is it Right for You?

Mon, 08/05/2019 - 10:22

U-M dietitian Sue Ryskamp weighs in on intermittent fasting benefits, who it works best for and how to get started

Legs

Bulging Veins

Mon, 08/05/2019 - 10:07

What to Do About Varicose Veins

Spiral Staircase

Hypnosis for Health

Fri, 07/26/2019 - 11:24

Can Trances Work?

Assorted Pills

Many Grandparents’ Medicines Aren’t Secure Enough Around Grandchildren

Tue, 07/02/2019 - 11:02

Keeping medications in easy-to-reach places and easy-to-open containers can raise the risk of accidental poisoning or intentional misuse.

Tray of sweets

Are Unhealthy Sugars Hiding in Your Favorite Foods?

Tue, 07/02/2019 - 10:24

Many of your favorite foods may contain “added sugars” that offer zero nutritional value and can be harmful to your health. The biggest culprits may surprise you.

VR set with skeleton diagram in background

Beyond Games

Tue, 07/02/2019 - 10:10

Using Virtual Reality to Improve Health

Beat Bursitis

Beating Bursitis

Wed, 06/05/2019 - 14:20

Take Care of Your Joint Cushions

Arthritis typing

How Osteoarthritis and Rheumatoid Arthritis Differ

Wed, 05/22/2019 - 15:22

These two diseases have similar early symptoms. A U-M rheumatologist sheds light on the two most common types of arthritis.

Making up sleep may not help

Making Up Sleep May Not Help

Tue, 05/07/2019 - 14:49

Catching up on sleep doesn’t reverse damage to the body caused by sleep deprivation, according to a new study.

Mouth Health

Mouth Microbes

Mon, 05/06/2019 - 15:00

The Helpful and the Harmful

Are Melatonin Supplements Safe?

Are Melatonin Supplements Safe?

Mon, 04/15/2019 - 10:39

A Michigan Medicine expert explains what we know and don’t know about the hormone supplement that’s growing in popularity.

The Inflamed Brain

The Inflamed Brain

Mon, 04/01/2019 - 15:03

Recognizing Encephalitis and Meningitis

Do Sleep Trackers Work?

Do Sleep Trackers Work? Pros and Cons to Know

Thu, 03/28/2019 - 14:05

The latest gadgetry designed to analyze your sleep has limits, experts say. And the tools are meaningless when healthy nighttime habits are ignored.

Practicing Gratitude

Practicing Gratitude

Thu, 03/14/2019 - 15:10

Ways to Improve Positivity

The Skinny on Fat

The Skinny on Fat

Wed, 03/13/2019 - 15:50

The Good, the Bad, and the Unknown

Shake It Off

Shake It Off

Wed, 02/06/2019 - 18:25

Boosting Your Mood

Picky Eating Tips

Got a Picky Eater? Try These 11 Tips at the Table

Tue, 02/05/2019 - 16:28

New research shows parental reactions to picky eating can have long-term effects, for better or worse. Here’s how to make peace at mealtime.

Health Advice for Women with Defibrillators

Health Advice for Women with Defibrillators

Tue, 02/05/2019 - 00:00

Although both genders are at equal risk of arrhythmia, women face unique challenges from a corrective ICD device.

Control Your Cholesterol

Control Your Cholesterol

Tue, 02/05/2019 - 11:15

Protect Yourself from Heart Attack and Stroke

Coping with Grief

Coping with Grief

Wed, 01/30/2019 - 13:05

Losing someone you love can change your world.

Creating Healthy Habits

Creating Healthy Habits

Wed, 01/30/2019 - 12:41

We know that making healthy choices can help us

Breath Easier

Breathe Easier

Sat, 12/22/2018 - 13:48

Dealing with Bad Air Quality

Management Pain

Managing Pain

Sat, 12/22/2018 - 13:45

Moving Beyond Opioids

Ease your child's doctor visit

6 Simple ways to ease children's fears at the doctor

Sat, 12/22/2018 - 13:40

Tips to manage anxiety in young patients

Affordable Care Act Information

Affordable Care Act Information

Fri, 11/23/2018 - 19:15

The 2019 open enrollment period runs November 1